Egg Rolls

Was so happy to have spotted this at the supermarket. It kinda reminds me of barquillos (wafer rolls), one of my favorite snacks from the Philippines.

Hang Heung Egg Rolls is a product of Hong Kong. They’re made of eggs, sugar, flour and vegetable oil. They’re crisp, light, and flaky; and suprisingly, they’re not oily at all (unlike other brands)!

On the cover of the tin were the words Love Letter! Amusing!

Well…come to think of it, they do look like scrolls…

I asked my Cantonese friends about it, and they confirmed that egg rolls are indeed also known as love letters!

There are two popular tales surrounding the unusual name:
1. In ancient China, egg rolls were used to spread secret messages between army factions.
2. A ‘smart’ casanova in Southern China used egg rolls as a way to send secret love letters to all his lovers! LOL

I love love letters! Do you? 😛

Leave a comment